ios

How to completely erase the contents of an Apple Watch from my iPhone

In 2014 we witnessed the presentation of the first model of Apple’s smart watch. As of today, the company has already launched the fifth generation of these devices.

And it is expected that in the near future the sixth generation will see the light. Regardless of the series you have, in this article we will teach you how to erase the content of an Apple Watch from your iPhone. But before erasing your personal data, we advise you to make backup copies of your Apple Watch. We will also show you the two methods that exist to carry out this process from the same watch.

How to erase the contents of an Apple Watch from an iPhone

If you are thinking of selling, exchanging or giving away your Apple Watch, you should first delete all your personal data from the watch. In this way, your personal information will not be compromised. To erase all your data, applications and personal information from your Apple watch, you just have to unlink it from your iPhone. To do this, you must do the following:

 

Note: while doing this, try to keep both devices as close as possible so that there are no problems with the Bluetooth connection.

delete apple wacht content with iphone

  1. Enter the Apple Watch application on the iPhone.
  2. Select the option My watch. Once there, click on your watch at the top of the screen.
  3. Touch the information icon next to the watch you want to unpair. In case of having several paired devices, each one will have this icon.
  4. Click on Unpair Apple Watch. Before proceeding, please read the following information.

If you have an Apple Watch GPS + Cellular model, you will have to choose whether to delete or keep the cellular data plan. To make this decision, take into account the following factors:

  • If in the future you plan to link the watch with the mobile again, choose to keep the plan.
  • If you’re not going to pair the two devices again, choose to remove the plan. If you are not going to re-link your Apple Watch to a different iPhone, it is recommended that you contact your mobile data operator to unsubscribe from cellular data.

To finish the process, unlink, confirm the action in the dialog box that appears and, if prompted, enter your Apple ID. Before deleting, unpairing or formatting the contents of the Apple Watch , the iPhone will make a backup of all the settings.

How to erase the content of an Apple Watch from the same watch

 

You can also delete old backups from your Apple Watch if you don’t have your iPhone. Exactly, you can delete the content of your Apple watch without having to use your mobile or unlink them. To do so, follow these steps:

apple watch and iphone watch

  1.  Enter the Apple Watch settings.
  2. Click on the General option.
  3. Select the Reset box.
  4. Click on the option Delete content and settings.
  5. If you have a GPS + Cellular model, consider the information we raised in the previous section of this article.
  6. Lastly, tap Erase everything to finish the process.

How to erase the contents of an Apple Watch if you forgot the password

Today we use passwords for almost everything. These serve to protect our information. But there is always the risk of forgetting them. Therefore, if the same has happened to you with the unlock code of your Apple watch, you can reset or reset to factory settings to use the device again . To do this, perform the following steps:

  1. Place the Apple Watch on its charger.
  2. Press and hold the oval-shaped button on one of the sides until the Shutdown menu is displayed.
  3. Press the switch off firmly and then lift your finger.
  4. Select the option Delete contents and settings.

When the device has finished the data deletion process, you can pair it with your iPhone again to retrieve your personal information and settings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button