Web

How to delete Google Chrome history automatically

If you frequently delete your browsing history from your browser, you may want to do it automatically. In this post I will show you the steps to delete the history of Google Chrome automatically when you exit the browser.

Deleting your browsing data in your internet browser is a good habit. This helps protect your privacy, preventing people with access to your computer from obtaining information about your online activities. The setting to automatically clear Chrome history  on exit can be useful on public and office computers.

Jump to section:

Clear Google Chrome history automatically on computer

Follow the steps below to have Google Chrome automatically clear your browsing history when you exit the browser on your Mac or Windows computer:

# 1. Open Google Chrome, click on the 3-dot menu icon  in the upper right corner of the browser and select the Settings option  .

# 2. Scroll down to the Privacy and security section and click Cookies and other site data.

# 3. Scroll down again and toggle the switch next to Clear cookies and site data when exiting Chrome.

With this simple configuration you will make Chrome take care of erasing your browsing data automatically when you exit. This includes cookies, cache, and browsing history.

# 4. Additionally, you can exclude websites from automatic data erasure.

To do this, click on the Add button to the right of Sites that can always use cookies.

In this way you will have added a website to preserve your browsing data when you close the browser. You can repeat the same steps to add other websites to this list.

Delete all Chrome history manually and quickly

You can also clear your Chrome browsing history manually. There are basically two ways to do it: individually delete each visited website in history or clear all of the quick Google Chrome history at once.

# 1. Open Chrome  and click on the  3-dot icon  in the upper right corner of the window.

# 2. From the menu select History > History  or use the keyboard shortcut  Ctrl + H   to open the browser history page.

# 3. If you only want to remove a few sites selectively, check each one of them and then click the Delete button in the upper right corner.

# 4. If you want to clear all the quick history, select the option  Clear browsing data on the left of the window.

# 5. On the next screen select the Advanced Settings tab , choose All in Time Range.

# 6. Next, check the web history items you want to delete and click the Clear data button .

This is the way how to clear Google Chrome history quickly. All data stored in the browser will have been completely removed.

Clear Chrome browsing history on mobile

Next, let’s see how you can delete Chrome’s browsing history from your Android or iPhone cell phone or tablet .

# 1. Open Chrome, press the  3-dot icon and choose the History option .

# 2. Once inside the page of your browsing history, you can click on Edit to select the elements to delete. On Android, press the X directly next to each visited page that you want to delete.

# 3. If you want to quickly delete all your history, click the Clear browsing data link  .

# 4. On the next screen, select the Time Range you want to delete and press the Clear data button .

This will erase all your browsing history, cookies, and all website data stored in Google Chrome.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button