Web

How to check where and when your Netflix account has been used

A Netflix account can be shared by several people depending on the type of plan you have. The smallest subscription plan is restricted to standard quality and viewing on one screen at a time. Other plans allow you to watch on up to 4 screens, making sharing a single account much easier. But if you suspect that your account is being used by people you don’t share it with, there is a very simple way to check. Netflix allows you to review the latest playback activity based on your profile. You can not only know if your account is being used by someone else, but from what profile, at what time and from what device.

When and where your Netflix account has been used

Open Netflix in your browser and click on the profile button in the upper right corner. From the menu that opens, select the profile for which you want to view recent activity. Open the drop-down menu again and select Account from the menu.

Scroll down to the My Profile section and click Viewing Activity. From the My Activity page you can get the first clue. It shows each individual item that has been viewed in the current profile. If you come across something strange, such as a program that the actual owner of the profile is probably not interested in, it is the first red flag.

The definitive proof can be found in Recent device streaming activity. You can access this by going to the Account page and then selecting the link in the Settings section .

Here you can see the time and public IP of each Netflix session for the current profile. You can also see what type of device the account was accessed from, be it a computer or phone.

This log is a fairly easy way to find out if someone has access to your Netflix account; or if your kids have been using it when they really should be asleep or studying.

It could also be useful to determine if a friend you share the account with has been sharing it with other people. In this case, the solution would be to change your Netflix password and talk to your friends and family to keep your account credentials confidential.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button