To permanently delete or close a Facebook page, you must have administrator rights. You can easily do it by entering the configuration, in this post you will find a detailed guide to the entire process. The steps are very simple, although they vary slightly depending on where they are performed, since they can be done from a computer or using a mobile device.
Additionally, there are other aspects related to deleting a Facebook page that you must know to be able to close it permanently, a clear example is that the process is reversible but only for a certain period. On the other hand, if you delete your personal account, the page may or may not be closed, depending on certain conditions. Learn about it below.
From the computer
To permanently delete or close a Facebook page from your computer, you must log in and access the “ Pages ” section by clicking on the button with this name in the menu to the left of the news section or by following thislink. Once in this section, follow the steps shown below:
- Select the page you want to close.
- Press ” Settings “, it is located in the options on the left of the screen.
- In this section you must click on ” General “.
- Within the general options, press the button that says ” Delete page.”
- Click on the option to ” Delete (page name) permanently “.
- Finally a dialog box will open with the question again “Do you want to permanently delete the page ?”, Press ” Delete “.
After completing these simple steps, you will have permanently deleted a Facebook page that you manage from a computer.
From the phone
If you use this social network on a Smartphone or Tablet, the process to permanently delete or close a Facebook page will depend on whether you use the app with this name or its Lite version. In this section you will find a guide on how to do it in either of the two applications.
With Facebook App
If you want to permanently delete or close a Facebook page using the application, you will see that the process is very similar to that carried out in the desktop version. To get started, log into your account and then follow the steps below:
- Open the drop-down menu located on the right of the screen. In this it is possible that you will see the page that you manage and you can enter directly (in that case, you can skip steps 2 and 3), if you have several you may not find it and you must carry out the following steps.
- Look for the ” Pages ” section.
- Select the page you manage.
- Click on the Settings icon.
- Click on the ” General ” option .
- Click on the option to ” Delete (name of your page) permanently “.
- You must confirm the operation, to do this click ” Delete page “.
This is all you need to permanently delete or close a Facebook page, using the application.
With Facebook Lite
Many users use this alternative to save space on their device. Here you will see the procedure on how to permanently delete or close a Facebook page, with Facebook Lite. To start, enter the application and follow these steps:
- Open the menu by pressing the icon in the upper right corner. You will be able to see some of the pages that you manage but not all. If you cannot find the one you want to close, you must continue to step 2, in case you can enter directly, skip to step 4.
- Enter the ” Pages ” section.
- Select the page that you manage and want to delete.
- Once inside your page, open the menu indicated with three ellipsis in the upper right corner.
- Select ” Edit settings.”
- Press the ” General Settings ” button .
- Click on the option that says ” Delete (name of your page) permanently “.
- Finally you will see a warning that the process is final. Press ” Delete page “.
In this section you will find relevant information in relation to closing a Facebook page permanently that you should know. One of them is: what happens to your fan page when you close your personal account.
Delete page from Facebook Business business manager
If you use Facebook Business, you can delete a page from the business manager, but to do this, a different procedure is carried out. To achieve this, follow the steps mentioned below:
- Go to ” Business Settings “. You can access using thislink.
- In ” Accounts “, there is the option ” Pages ” press it.
- Choose the page you want to delete.
- Once the information is uploaded, you will see a button that says “ Delete ”. It may be necessary to confirm the operation for security reasons.
By following these steps, you will be able to delete a Facebook page from the business manager. Such a process is not a major inconvenience, as long as it is not linked to a business Instagram account, in which case you should also change it to a personal one.
Deleting your personal Facebook account
A personal profile is required to manage a page. Therefore, you should know that deleting your Facebook account also closes the page, but only if you are the only administrator of it.
However, you can always delete a page on Facebook permanently, without having to close your account. It is simply necessary that you are the creator and can expel the other administrators, and then request the elimination of your fan page, without someone else being able to prevent it.
If you have multiple administrators
When you want to delete a Facebook page, a notification comes to all administrators. Therefore, if you want to delete a Facebook page that has several administrators, it is essential that you are the creator of the group. In this way, you will be able to expel the other administrators. Otherwise, anyone can cancel the request.
To permanently close a Facebook page, you should know that the process will be reversible for a period of 14 days, after that time you will not be able to recover it. Also keep in mind that if you do not delete the page, it will remain open indefinitely, since Facebook does not currently have protocols to disable these spaces automatically.