Social media

How to Disconnect from Social Media and Resist the Temptation to Return

More and more people are making the decision to give up the use of Facebook and Instagram, and start living in the real world again. However, although it may seem simple at first, it is not so easy to disconnect from social networks.

Social networks are made precisely to keep you tied all the time, and when you go out, come back for more. But what if you’ve finally had enough and want to disconnect from them?

We have been addicted to these networks for quite some time, and many of us find it very difficult to get rid of them. But privacy scandals, like the Cambridge Analytica leak and many others, have caused a large number of users to start wondering: is social media really safe? The truth is that although they have their advantages, there are also many benefits to leaving social networks

To disconnect from social networks, in this post we will help you with the most basic thing, which is to eliminate them. The success of your separation depends on your own will power.

Delete your Facebook account

Let’s start with the big one. Deactivating your Facebook account is quite simple, but that doesn’t mean that they will let you escape without trying to avoid it. Some people like to prepare to leave Facebook by writing a goodbye message. If you find this to be a bit lenient, you can skip this step and go straight to deleting your account. After all, your true friends will have a way to contact you, even if you disappear from the social network.

  • Log in to Facebook.
  • Click the arrow in the upper right corner of any Facebook page and select Settings.
  • Now, in the left column select Your Facebook information
  • Next to the Deactivation and removal option , click the View link .

If you want to take a more permanent measure and you are really disconnecting from social networks, you can permanently delete your account. The process can take up to 90 days, but it is the only way to remove the temptation to reactivate the account. You can see how to permanently delete Facebook in this article.

Delete your Instagram account

After deleting Facebook, the next one on your list should be Instagram. This is currently one of the applications where people tend to waste the most time. If you’re not that active in posting, I don’t think a goodbye message or selfie is necessary. But if you want you can do it, just try to be natural and without much drama. Then follow these steps.

  • Go to the instagram.  Instagram instagram. page 
  • Login with your username and password
  • Choose the reason why you want to delete the account.
  • Enter your password again and click the Permanently delete my account button.

Like Facebook, Instagram gives you the option to temporarily deactivate your account. This is fine if you just want to take a break from social media.

Delete your Twitter account

Twitter is perhaps the most polarizing of the popular social media platforms. It can be a useful source of news for us journalists, and many media organizations cannot live without it, but it can also be a cesspool of hate speech, bullying, and the worst parts of life online. You can deactivate your Twitter account on Android, iOS, or desktop, and the process is very similar for each method.

  • Log into your Twitter account and go to Settings and Privacy
  • Click Deactivate your account
  • You will need to enter your password again and click Disable a couple more times

If you want a detailed guide on how to deactivate or delete your Twitter account, you can go to this guide that we have previously created.

Unlike Facebook, which requires you to start a separate process to permanently delete your account, Twitter takes a different approach. Your user data will remain on Twitter for 30 days after deactivation. After that, your account will disappear forever and the company will start deleting your data from its servers. You must go through this period of abstinence before you can leave Twitter for good. If you log in at any time during the 30 day period, you will have to start over.

Delete your Snapchat account

Snatchap may not have the same punch as some time ago, but if you have an account and are looking to disconnect from social networks, it is better to delete it. Like the others, Snapchat gives you a 30-day waiting period before your account is deleted forever.

You cannot remove Snapchat from the app, so you will need to go to  the website  using a browser. Anyway, you can do it from a desktop computer or from a cell phone. Follow these steps.

  • Log in and confirm that you are not a robot by checking the box.
  • Confirm your username and password.
  • Scroll down and find  Delete my account  right at the bottom.
  • Press  Confirm.

All you have to do now is resist the urge to log in again for 30 days and you are done with Snapchat.

Disconnect from social networks and avoid the temptation to return

Quitting or disconnecting from social media is not that different from giving up other addictive behaviors like smoking and drinking alcohol. You have to be prepared for withdrawal symptoms. These sites and apps are designed to keep you coming back and the recurring temptations are very effective. You’ll feel like it, and giving in to those urges will only bring you back where you started.

Finding something else to do in your free or idle time instead of rummaging through social media is vital. Try to bring an interesting book or read about something that you are passionate about. You will also have to deal with your friends and associates getting used to the fact that you no longer automatically see their lives and events. You will be invited to parties late because you did not receive the Facebook invitation, but this changes over time.

Focus on the positives of being social media free. You made this commitment for a reason, so take it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button