Social media

Delete an Instagram account

To delete an Instagram account you must enter a direct link on the platform and choose the reason why you want to completely leave this social network. On the other hand, it should be noted that Instagram also offers the option to make a backup copy of the uploaded content and to ” Deactivate the account temporarily “, that is, you will keep your photos and videos but your profile will remain hidden from all users of this platform.

However, it is important to note that once you permanently delete your Instagram account, this social network will not allow registration with the same username. Therefore, you should think very well about this decision because you will lose your followers and all the content that you have uploaded to the platform. If you are completely sure, in this article you will find how to delete an Instagram account or deactivate it and how to make a backup.

Steps to follow

You have two alternatives in case you make a short or long-term decision. If you want to start from scratch on Instagram, the recommendation will be to delete the account permanently. On the other hand, if you only want to get away from social networks for a while, you can deactivate the Instagram account temporarily.

Delete the account permanently

If you are looking to permanently delete your Instagram account so as not to record your data on this platform or to start from scratch with a new user, these are the steps you should take:

  1. Enter ” Delete my Instagram account ” through thislink.
  2. Choose a reason why you want to delete your profile. Instagram will indicate a date on which it will be permanently deleted. The account will only remain hidden until that date.
  3. Enter your password.
  4. Click on ” Delete (username) “.

Note: It is worth mentioning that Instagram offers one month to permanently delete the account. If during this time you do not log in again, your profile will be completely deleted from the social network.

Deactivate account temporarily

If you choose this option, your account will only be hidden from all Instagram users. If you log in again, you will get your profile back without any problem. Having clarified this point, these are the steps you must take to deactivate your Instagram account temporarily:

  1. Log in to Instagram through thislink.
  2. Now, click on this link to enter ” Temporarily disable your account.”
  3. Choose a reason why you want to deactivate your account.
  4. Enter your password.
  5. Click on ” Temporarily disable the account.”

Make a backup

It is recommended that before deleting an Instagram account permanently or temporarily, a backup copy of all the photos and videos that have been uploaded to the social network be made. This process can be done both from the computer and from the official app.

From the website

Taking a backup to Instagram from a computer is one of the easiest processes to execute. In case you want to protect the content that you have uploaded, you just have to execute these steps:

  1. Log in to Instagram from your computer using thislink.
  2. Click on your profile icon and click on ” Settings “.
  3. Click on ” Privacy and security “.
  4. Look for the option “ Download data ” and click on “ Request download ”.
  5. Write an email in which you can receive a link with all the content of your account. Choose the information format and then select ” Next.”
  6. Enter your password to confirm the download. Then, press “ Request download ”.
  7. A message will appear indicating that a file has been created with the content of your Instagram account and that it may take up to 48 hours to receive it.

Note: you can also run these steps from a mobile browser if you don’t have access to a computer.

From the app

You can backup Instagram from mobile app as follows:

  1. Open Instagram and click on your profile icon located in the lower right corner of the screen.
  2. Click on the three horizontal lines that appear in the upper right corner .
  3. Go to ” Settings “.
  4. Click on ” Security “.
  5. Click on ” Download data “.
  6. Enter an email for Instagram to send the content of your account. Then select ” Request download.”
  7. To finish the process, enter your password and confirm the request by clicking ” Next “.

Reactivate the account

In case you only deactivate your Instagram account, you can reactivate it again when you log in. On the other hand, if you have done the procedure to permanently delete your profile, then you will have to log in before the date indicated by Instagram for the definitive closure of your account.

As mentioned above, this social network offers one month to permanently delete the account. After that time, you will not be able to log in or recover all the photos or videos that you have uploaded since it will have been completely deleted. In view of this, it is recommended to perform the backup and think very well about the decision to make.

The process to permanently or temporarily delete an Instagram account is extremely quick and easy to do. If you have the mobile application or a computer with Internet access, you will only have to follow the steps that have been described. To recover it, just log in at the established time and you will have your account activated again.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button