Instant messaging

How to completely disable Facebook Messenger from your account

It has happened that when you delete your Facebook account or decide to deactivate your account for a while, the Messenger application is still active. Typically, the reason you unsubscribe from your Facebook profile is because of the annoyance caused by the ease with which strangers have access to your profile, especially direct messages. In addition to this, the fact that an additional application is required to use this service.

If this is your position, you are surely in this post because you want to deactivate the Facebook Messenger account completely. This occurs since you continue to receive messages through said messaging service and you do not want your profile to remain active in it. You should not worry about it, in this text you will find a detailed guide to know how to do it.

Is it possible to deactivate the Messenger account?

The reality is that you can’t disable Facebook’s instant messaging service without completely deleting your account. If you made the mistake of using your phone number to access Messenger, this service will become independent of your Facebook account and even if you deactivate or delete it, Messenger will remain active.

As Facebook Messenger corresponds to an application developed separately from Facebook, you can remove the Messenger application. Even so, the messages will continue to arrive in your inbox, you can only read them by reinstalling the app or from your computer.

How to disable Facebook Messenger

Next, a step-by-step guide will be detailed to deactivate Facebook Messenger from each device, whether your phone is from the Android or iOS Operating System and even from the PC.

From the phone

This procedure is extremely simple to perform. You must bear in mind that there are two procedures, everything will depend on whether or not you have deleted your Facebook profile. In this first procedure that is detailed, the profile has been previously deleted, so you must follow the steps mentioned below from the Facebook Messenger app:

  1. After opening the application, enter the menu (the photo of your profile that is in the upper left corner).
  2. Follow the following command line until you find the option ” Conditions and policies “.

  3. Enter the option “Deactivate Messenger”.
  4. Choose ” Disable “. With this you will have deactivated Messenger on your Android Smartphone.

After that, you will only have to uninstall Facebook Messenger from Google Play or the App Store as appropriate. This can be done from the following buttons:

Messenger
Developer: Facebook, Inc.
Price: Free

If you have not deactivated or deleted your Facebook profile, the steps to deactivate your Messenger account will be different. Follow this alternative guide carefully and you will be able to completely disable it:

  1. Enter the Messenger application and then access the menu.
  2. Go to ” Account Settings “.
  3. Look through the options for one that says ” Account ownership and control.”
  4. Then click on ” Deactivation and removal”.
  5. Facebook will warn you that you must deactivate or uninstall your profile before proceeding, at the end of the options you will find ” Proceed to deactivate and delete your Facebook account “.
  6. Choose to deactivate or delete. Then select ” Continue with account deactivation / deletion.”
  7. Enter the password for your Facebook account and then click ” Continue “.
  8. Select a reason  from the list and then click ” Continue ” again.
  9. Since Facebook does not want you to deactivate or delete your account, it will give you some alternative options, ignore them and clickContinue “.
  10. Finally, if you are only deactivating your profile, some notifications will continue to arrive in your email, check the ” Stop receiving notifications from Facebook ” box and click ” Deactivate / Delete my account “.

With this, your Facebook Messenger profile will be completely deactivated. You just have to follow the corresponding procedure taking into account whether or not you have previously deleted your Facebook profile.

From PC

If you have downloaded the FB Messenger application for Windows. The following steps will be helpful to deactivate your account:

  1. Type the word ” Messenger ” from the search engine on the Windows start bar.
  2. A menu will be displayed containing a list of actions for the application, selectUninstall “.
  3. A confirmation box will appear and clickUninstall.” This completes this simple procedure.

Deactivate the active state of Messenger.

If you want to connect to Facebook only to share content or to write to a specific person, but other contacts find that you are online and you feel that it is a nuisance. Then the following simple guide will help you.

From the PC.

Performing this procedure from the computer is simple. To do this, you just have to follow the procedure described below:

  1. Once in your Facebook profile in your browser, go to the Messenger sidebar and select the settings menu (it’s a gear).
  2. Some options will be displayed and click on “Deactivate active status.

  3. An auxiliary window will pop up where you will have three options, select “Deactivate active status for all contacts”. As you can see, you have the option to customize this.
  4. Click “OK” and voila, the procedure will be over.

From the phone.

Disabling the connection status from the mobile application is much easier. You just have to follow these steps:

  1. Once in the Facebook Messenger application, enter the menu.
  2. One of the first options is “Active status”, select that option.

  3. There is only one alternative, “Show when active”, you can turn it on or off, turn it off”.
  4. A confirmation box will pop up. Press “Deactivate”. With this, you will have already achieved it.

Tips to improve Facebook Messenger Privacy

If you will continue to use your Facebook profile to simply continue sharing or publishing content and what you want is just to stop receiving so many chats in your inbox, keep the following tips in mind:

  1. Do not add your phone number to the Facebook account.
  2. Configure your phone notifications and disable Facebook Messenger notifications.
  3. Your state of activity set it to “Off”.
  4. Modify your privacy allowing only your Facebook friends list to access the chat option.
  5. Modify the privacy settings of your publications in “only to my friends”.
  6. Do not accept or send friend requests to strangers.
  7. You can also block a contact on Messenger or do it entirely from Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button