Cloud storage

How to share a folder on Google Drive

Google Drive offers its users to acquire space on a virtual disk in the cloud. Allowing you to save on Hardware and, above all, have the option of accessing your files anywhere. Whether you are at home, or if you are on vacation, from a mobile phone or through a computer. But one of the most outstanding features is that it gives you the opportunity to share your information with others.

You have several ways to do it, managing even if they can modify some files or can only view them. If you do not know about this function or how to configure the permissions according to your information, the way to do it through a PC or through a mobile device will be detailed. So you can enjoy all the benefits that Google Drive offers you with its service.

From PC

You have 2 alternatives to share a folder from your computer. Either you have the program or you use it through a browser. Both ways of doing this will be explained below:

From the Windows desktop

For Windows Operating Systems, Google Drive released its installable version that gives you the ability to manage all your information in the cloud with a folder on your desktop. Through this, you can also share your information with others.

Although there are at least three ways to share, through the program you can only do it through an invitation email. All the steps must be carried out from the Google Drive folder on your computer.

  1. Right click on the folder you want to share. This way you will access more options.
  2. Then in the Google Drive section, select the ” Share ” option .
  3. In the window that will open, enter the email address of the person with whom you want to share your information.
  4. To finish, press “ Done ”.

An email from Google will automatically reach the person with a link that gives them access only to the folder you shared. Your other files will remain hidden. The procedure can also be done with a single file.

From the browser

Through your browser you can also grant access permissions to your files and folders. Three ways to share your files from Google Drive will be discussed :

By email

Through this option, you will manage who accesses your drive, giving you the possibility to invite specific people. All the steps will be carried out from the main page ofGoogle Drive :

  1. On the folder you want to share, right-click. This will show you all the applicable options.
  2. Then select ” Share.”
  3. In the window that opens, enter the email address of the person you want to share with.
  4. To finish, press “ Done ”.

In this way, an invitation will be sent to the person so that they have access only with the Gmail that you have invited them.

Using a link

This way of sharing your information is a little easier, but carries more risks. It is about generating a link so that anyone who has it can see your folder. For some users the vulnerability of this method is usually uncomfortable. However, you always have the ability to restrict users. To generate the link follow these steps:

  1. Right click on the folder you want to share .
  2. In the options tab select ” Get link to share.”
  3. A window will appear where it will show you the link. You can copy it by clicking the ” Copy link ” button.
  4. Press ” Done ” to finish the process.

Ready, you will have to send that link to your contacts so that they can have access to your folder.

Share with a group

In its latest update, Google allows you to create groups of people to share information with them. You can do it from its main page in the option ” Create Group “. Many use this alternative when they have workgroups with whom they must constantly share information through Google Drive.

Next, it will be explained how to share information with said group:

  1. In the folder you want to share, open the list of options. To do this, right click on it.
  2. Select the ” Share ” section.
  3. In the window that opens, instead of typing in an email address, type in the name of your group.
  4. Press ” Done ” to finish.

An email will automatically reach all the people associated with your workgroup.

From the phone

If you are an Android user and you use the Google Drive application, you also have the option to share your folders. Two ways to do it will be detailed:

By invitation

From your device you can generate an invitation so that other people have specific access to a file or folder. If you want to use this way of doing it, just follow these steps:

  1. In the folder you want to share, access more options. To do this, press the three vertical dots next to the title.
  2. Then select the option ” Add people “.
  3. In the box that opens, type the email address or name of your group to share with them.
  4. To finish, send the invitation with the button that is located in the upper right part.

In this way, an email will be generated with a link that can only be used by the owner of the email.

Using a link

You can also generate a link or link to share with other users. This way, you won’t have to send an invitation to every contact you want to give them permission to see your information. You just have to do the following to generate said link:

  1. In the folder you want to share, open the options menu. You just have to click on the 3 vertical dots next to the name of the folder.
  2. Click on ” Share via link “.

It will automatically generate a link to share and it will be copied to your clipboard. You just have to paste and send it to the people you want.

Manage sharing permissions

Allowing other users to view your files or folders updates the sharing options. You can choose between these two ways :

  • View : you will only allow him to see your folders and files, but he will not be able to edit or move anything.
  • Organize, edit, and add : These settings allow you some freedom to edit, move, and delete files.

You can change the permissions when making the invitation. In the window where you enter the email to send the invitation to share, do the following:

  1. Click on the settings that appear on the right with the gear symbol.
  2. There, check the box if you want to grant permissions for it to be edited, otherwise do not modify it.
  3. To finish
    click back and then proceed to send the invitation link.

So you can keep track of the people who can modify your folders.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button